Take Your Kid to Work Day

I still remember H’s first day of school like it was yesterday a million years ago. I turned around twice and now he’s a high schooler, and everything is “beast” or “lit” and if you don’t agree you can “get wrecked”. Or something like that.

This week I got to take my sweet/angsty boy to the office for Take Your Kid to Work Day. He was surprisingly excited (he must have momentarily forgot that once you hit your teens, you are strongly forbidden from having positive feelings about your parents past about a 2 on a scale of 1 = OMG they are the worst to 10 = I don’t completely hate them).

angsty-teenage-cow

He was not exactly a happy camper about getting up before dawn to hit the road but once he remembered he had preemptively negotiated some Tim’s for breakfast, (smart boy!), he did manage to rumble himself out the door.

We started the day off pretty quietly while I caught up on e-mails and he read a book but we picked the pace up a bit working on closing out a big deal, which we celebrated with a round of beer and Dr. Pepper. And now he thinks this is what every day looks like… I can only imagine what he told his school his mom does at work the next day!

9c36d60509a2a6f4e662ce4705055e3f

And of course there were some laughs too:

H – checks expiration on milk: Nov. 8. “Look, Mom! My milk expires the same day as America!

…and:

Dude in meeting, referencing a  particular word used by Trump: “It’s a euphemism for ‘cat’.”

Me, glancing at H: “He isn’t 6, you may as well have just spelled it, he can understand you.”

Dude, panicked: “I don’t know how kids are!”

H, confessing later: “I didn’t get it, what did he mean ‘euthanizing cat’?”

image-5

Going to work alone the next day felt so lonely without him; it really was so fun getting to have him tag along for a day with me and I was so proud to show off my boy… it was totally ‘beast’!

(I know, H, I know… your mom is so cringe. Love you anyway).

4 Comments Add yours

  1. oldgrannygirl says:

    Well done; I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Roxie says:

    Favorite post so far!

    Like

  3. Sheena says:

    Love it.

    Like

Leave a comment